Celebrating Solutions





The Mary Byron Project created the Celebrating Solutions Awards to showcase and applaud local innovations that demonstrate promise in breaking the cycle of violence. We select programs that can serve as models for the nation and offer $10,000 cash awards in recognition of their pioneering efforts. Nominations are judged by a panel of experts in criminal justice, health care, and public policy, and other disciplines that address intimate partner violence.

The application period for the 2018 Celebrating Solutions & Roth Awards has closed. 
(If you'd like the view the 2018 application for reference, please click here.) 

Please check back for the 2019 application. 

Eligibility Criteria for Celebrating Solutions Awards:

The program’s primary focus must address the issue of intimate partner violence.

  • The nominated program, the agency or organization, and the core components of the program being nominated must have been operating for a minimum of three (3) years (established no later than December 31, 2015 for the 2019 award year.) The program must be in existence when the nomination is made.
  • The program must be part of a non-profit 501(c) (3) or government agency.

Awards Process

There are two stages to the awards process. Stage one requires submission of a nomination form, program outline, and release. If your nomination advances to the second stage, you will be asked to provide additional information and letters of support. Do not send brochures, videos, annual reports, or any support materials for the first round of judging, as they will be discarded.

Nominations are judged by a panel of experts in criminal justice, health care, and public policy. These individuals remain anonymous so their ability to judge the nominations will not be influenced by a relationship with a nominated organization.

Not Eligible for Celebrating Solutions Awards are:

  • Past Celebrating Solutions Award winners
  • The program should be replicable, or if it is national in scope, the program should have applications for individual communities, regardless of their size or ethnic population.
  • Organizations other than non-profit or governmental.
  • Organizations operating outside the United States or a U.S. territory.
  • Individuals.
  • Basic research.

2017 Winners

2016 Winners

 Commended Program Award

2015 Winners

2014 Winners

2013 Winners

2012 Winners

2011 Winners

2010 Winners

2009 Winners

2008 Winners

2007 Winners

2006 Winners

2005 Winners 

2004 Winners

2003 Winners